Veronica Primes
[email protected] 
 Phone: 832-249-4917

Please call the school if your child will be absent or late to school.

Good attendance is of prime importance for the educational development of each student. A student should never be absent unless it is absolutely necessary. Acceptable and excused absences are the following: personal sickness, sickness in the immediate family, death in the immediate family (immediate family includes grandparents, mother, father, sister, and brother), and school sponsored activities. Any variations of this may be discussed with the student's assistant principal or principal.

Dear Parents,

Please note the following in regards to student absences:

Parent notes need to come in within 5 days of a student's return. A parent phone call will no longer suffice. Remember that high school credit courses can only have 9 absences, all other courses can only have 18 absences total. The only exception to this is if there is a valid medical note. Thank you for your cooperation with this matter.

Unexcused Absences
With regard unexcused absences, a student commits a criminal offense if the student is absent for 10 or more days or parts of days in a six-month period or three or more days or parts of days in a four-week period OR any student with 5 absences in a 28 day period NOT parent verified - (i.e. with a note or phone call) the student's parent/guardian is subject to prosecution under Section 25.093 of the Texas Education Code the student is subject to prosecution under section 25.094 of the Texas Education Code.

The state compulsory attendance law allows for legal action, if necessary, for excessive absences. A student who is absent more than 18 days for an intermediate school class may not be given credit except as noted below:

  1. Illness of the student, as verified by a doctor's written statement showing the dates of absence
  2. Extenuating circumstances approved by the campus attendance committee, the majority of which consists of classroom teachers.

It is not necessary for a student to have a note from a doctor each time he/she is ill. Unless the number of absences in a high school credit class is more than 9 absences per semester or more than 18 days in the school year for an intermediate class, and if medical reasons are given for an additional absence, a doctor's note will be required for the day(s) of illness in order to receive academic credit unless waived by the attendance committee. Extenuating circumstances include but are not limited to the following:

  • Illness or death in the immediate family (note from parent/guardian)
  • Late enrollment or early withdrawal of a student placed in or having resided in a community care home by Texas Youth Commission
  • Late enrollment or early withdrawal of a migratory student as defined by applicable federal regulations
  • The observance of religious holy days if the parent submits a written request
  • Weather or road conditions making travel dangerous
  • A natural disaster

Any absence not verified by a note from the student's parent/guardian within five days will not be eligible for consideration by the attendance committee as extenuating. The date(s) for the student's absence should be included in the signed parent excuse. Students who miss 15 minutes of a class or more are marked absent.

Truancy is a crime.
Any student who is absent from school without parent knowledge (truant) or who has cut class will be assigned to an on-campus or after-school detention program.

Early Dismissals
Students are not permitted to leave campus without the parent or guardian signing the student out through the ‘attendance office’. Parents may call the office or send a note with their child. All notes for Early Dismissals should be brought to the attendance as soon as possible. Students will not be permitted to leave school with anyone other than the parent or guardian unless prior arrangements have been made with the attendance office.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.